Treaty Settlements

Settled Iwi Groups

Currently there are four iwi in the Region that have settled their claims. These are Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi, Ngāti Apa (North Island), Rangitāne o Manawatū and Rangitāne o Tamaki nui-ā-Rua (joint settlement with Rangitāne o Wairarapa). Te Awa Tupua (The Whanganui River Claims Settlement) was a claim made by Whanganui Iwi specifically for the River. Ngāti Toa Rangatira reside within the Greater Wellington Regional Council area; this iwi also has interests within the Horizons Region.