Meet Our People

Our staff are involved in a wide variety of work. This is reflected in over 100 different roles such as scientists, accountants, river engineers, transport planners, policy analysts, plant and animal officers, and hydrologists.  The following short clips will give you an insight into what our staff do.

Note from our Chief Executive

Fancy a career in Regional council?  I say great choice! Regional government in this country is an incredibly rewarding career.

Even after more than 20 years in the business, I am blown away with the variety of different work we are involved in. Scientists, researchers, river engineers, transport planners, policy analysts, plant and animal officers, hydrologists… these are just a few of the careers at Horizons.

The opportunity to move to different roles within Horizons also makes it a great career choice, so I encourage you to join our 200 dedicated staff committed to making our Region a great place to live, work and play.

Our Executive Management Team

Our executive team is made up of our five Group Managers, and the Chief Executive.

  • Mr Michael McCartney - CE
  • Mr Craig Grant
  • Mr Ged Shirley
  • Dr Jon Roygard
  • Dr Nic Peet
  • Mr Ramon Strong

Our Groups

The essence of Horizons core function is broken into five groups.

River Management is lead by group manager Mr Ramon Strong. This group looks after our river schemes and catchments to provide flood protection.

Strategy and Regulation is lead by group manager Dr Nic Peet. This group looks after policy, consents and consent monitoring, and also includes our rural advice team.

Regional Services and Information is lead by group manager Mr Ged Shirley. This group looks after catchment information and data, emergency management, transport and district advice.

Managing Natural Resources and Partnerships is lead by Dr Jon Roygard. This groups looks after fresh and groundwater, science, biosecurity and biodiversity.

Corporate and Governance is lead by Mr Craig Grant. This groups looks after customer service, rates, assets and governance.

Back row from left: Ramon Strong, Craig Grant, Nic Peet. Front row from left: Jon Roygard, Michael McCartney, Ged Shirley.