### **Horizons Regional Council**

### Final proposal for representation arrangements for the 2022 local elections

On 27 October 2021 Horizons Regional Council considered the submissions received on its initial proposal regarding the representation arrangements for the Council to apply for the local elections to be held on 8 October 2022.

### Submissions

The Council received 12 submissions, including 1 late submission and 1 submission that was subsequently withdrawn.

## On its proposal to have 14 regional councillors, 12 elected from 6 general constituencies and 2 from 2 Māori constituencies:

3 submissions were in favour and 8 opposed summarised as follows:

- One submitter supporting the maintenance of Ruapehu representation (accepted).
- One submitter sought a goal of 50 percent Māori councillors (rejected legislation specifies how the number is calculated).
- Three submitters opposed increasing the total number of councillors. One submitter sought a reduction in the total number of councillors, to 10 (rejected the Council considers 14 councillors provides fair and effective representation).
- One submitter sought that Horizons review the two Māori constituencies after two election cycles (accepted subject to any change in legislative requirements).
- One submitter proposed an alternative arrangement for general constituencies to achieve even population distribution between councillors, including: 4 councillors for Palmerston North; 2 for Whanganui urban; 1 each for Feilding and Levin and 1 each for 4 'districts' (Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western) (rejected – the submission does not meet the legislative requirements and the Council consider the proposal provides for fair and effective representation).
- One submitter proposed that the boundary between the 2 Māori constituencies should be at the Rangitīkei River (rejected – there is no indication of support from iwi or hapū and to the extent that it is practicable, constituency boundaries should conform with the boundaries of territorial authority districts or wards.

# On its proposal to support or oppose the names Raki Māori and Tonga Māori for Māori constituencies:

2 submissions were in favour and 4 opposed, 3 neither supported nor opposed and 2 supported either iwi engagement or a decision to be made by the electors concerned (the Council accepted the support and rejected the opposition).

#### **Final proposal**

Having considered all of the submissions, the Council adopted its initial proposal as its final proposal. Council considers the proposal is the most appropriate to ensure that all the Region's communities of interest are effectively represented, and the arrangements do not create barriers to participation.

#### **Council representation**

It is proposed that Council comprises 14 members elected from 6 general and 2 Māori constituencies as shown in the tables below:

Constituency	Description		
Ruapehu	Ruapehu District and the parts of Waitomo and Stratford		
	Districts located within the region.		
Whanganui	Whanganui District.		
Manawatū-Rangitīkei	Manawatū District, all of Rangitīkei District except the part		
	located in the Hawkes' Bay Region, and including the part of		
	Taupō District within the region.		
Palmerston North	Palmerston North City.		
Horowhenua	Horowhenua District.		
Tararua	Tararua District except the part of the district located in		
	Greater Wellington Region.		
Raki Māori	All of Ruapehu District, Whanganui District and Manawatū		
	District; all of Rangitikei District except the part located in the		
	Hawkes' Bay Region; and including those parts of Stratford		
	District and Waitomo District located within the region.		
Tonga Māori	Palmerston North City, all of Horowhenua District, and all of		
	Tararua District except the part located in Greater Wellington		
	Region.		

The population that each member will represent (rounded to the nearest hundred) is as follows:

Constituency	Population (2020 Statistics NZ estimate)	Members	Population per member
General constituencies			
Ruapehu	9130	1	9130
Whanganui	39700	2	19850
Manawatū-Rangitīkei	41800	2	20900
Palmerston North	80700	4	20175
Horowhenua	31000	2	15500
Tararua	16000	1	16000
Total general constituencies	218330	12	18194
Māori constituencies			
Raki Māori	18280	1	18280
Tonga Māori	17560	1	17560
Total Māori constituencies	35840	2	17920
Total	254170	14	

Section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 requires that the population each member represents for the general constituencies must be within the range of 18,194 +/- 10% (16,375–20,013), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise. Section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 also requires that the population each member represents for the Māori constituencies must be within the range of 17,920 +/- 10% (16,128 – 19,712), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

The representation of Ruapehu, Manawatū-Rangitīkei, Palmerston North, Horowhenua and Tararua Constituencies fall outside the stipulated range. Council considers that the existing arrangements are the most appropriate to ensure that Ruapehu, Manawatū-Rangitīkei, Palmerston North, Horowhenua and Tararua's communities of interest are effectively represented, and the arrangements do not create barriers to participation.

### Appeals and objections

Any person who made a submission on the Council's initial proposal may lodge an appeal against the Council's decision. The appeal must relate to the matters raised in that person's submission.

Appeals must be made in writing and must be received by Council no later than **11.59pm**, **Sunday 5 December 2021.** 

### **Further information**

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to:

- Katharine Tongs, Electoral Official (Freephone 0508 800 800 or 06 9522 800)
- Physical address Horizons Regional Council, 11-15 Victoria Avenue, Palmerston North 4442
- Postal address Horizons Regional Council, Private Bag 11025, Palmerston North 4442
- Email submissions@horizons.govt.nz

Michael McCartney CHIEF EXECUTIVE