Final election results for Horizons Regional Council announced

Local body voting for Horizons Regional Council’s Palmerston North constituency closed at 12 noon on Friday and the final results are now available.

Horizons electoral officer Craig Grant says that the final results available at, include all votes received up until 12 noon Friday 21 September, as well as the special votes placed.
“We can now announce that Jono Naylor is declared elected and will fill the Palmerston North seat with a total of 5,189 votes,” says Mr Grant.
“The Palmerston North by-election has been held due to the passing of the late Cr Pat Kelly over Queen’s Birthday Weekend earlier this year.
“As the successful candidate, Jono Naylor will be sworn into Council on 9 October 2018.”
The final results are as follows:

MANAWATU-WHANGANUI REGIONAL COUNCIL (trading as Horizons Regional Council)

Candidate Progress Preliminary Final
Jono Naylor                        5,137 5,182 5,189
Chris Teo-Sherrell                4,851 4,924 4,951
Jack Dowds                         4,276 4,337 4,349
Grant Seton        815 819 821
Ross Barber        253 255 255
18 informal votes and 49 blank voting papers were received. 
The final voter return was 27.47 per cent.
Craig Grant
Electoral Officer
Horizons Regional Council
Palmerston North