Tararua College joins Enviroschools programme

Horizons Regional Council are pleased to welcome Tararua College to the Enviroschools programme, following a successful launch to celebrate earlier today.

Horizons environmental educator and Enviroschools regional coordinator Sarah Williams says this morning’s launch went without a hitch.
“This morning approximately 20 students planted 15 native trees and 11 fruit trees as the kick start of a revitalization of the College’s orchard and horticulture shed. The natives were selected to represent the four student houses; tōtara, mātai, rimu and kowhai,” says Mrs Williams.
“We were also joined by students from Pahiatua Primary who are also an Enviroschool, which creates an awesome link for students as they continue their education journey.
“Tararua principal Iain Anderson is a strong supporter of the Enviroschools programme and is looking to incorporate the small farm that’s attached to the College into the programme and connect it back to their agricultural studies.”
Environmental education is planned to be incorporated into the junior (years 9 and 10) curriculum to embed sustainability into their everyday practices.
Facilitation of the Enviroschools programme for Tararua College is supported through funding from Tararua District Council.
“Further funding is available for one more Tararua school to become an Enviroschool, so interested schools can get in touch with me directly at education@horizons.govt.nz,” says Mrs Williams.

More information: The Enviroschools programme aims to equip young people with the competencies they need to be leaders in sustainability resulting in long term behaviour change. The Enviroschools vision is to create a generation of people who instinctively think and act sustainability. The programme promotes the sustainable management of natural and physical resources by addressing issues relating to waste, water, energy, transport, and biodiversity. There are 63 Enviroschools across the region, covering early childhood, primary and secondary levels. These are funded by the relevant Territorial Authorities.