Horizons' Palmerston North by-election nominations closed

Nominations for candidates to fill the vacant Palmerston North seat on Horizons Regional Council closed at midday today.

The five candidates who have put their name forward for the Council’s by-election are (in alphabetical order); Ross Barber, Jack Dowds, Jono Naylor, Grant Seton, and Chris Teo-Sherrell.
Electoral officer Craig Grant says a ‘Meet the Candidates’ event will be held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre on 14 August at 5.30pm, providing community members an opportunity to hear from the candidates and ask questions.
“The qualities voters should be looking for in an elected member include effective decision making, excellent communication, and good relationship and time management,” says Mr Grant.
“Elected council members need to be able to relate to a wide range of community members with a range of views on how the region’s environment should be managed.”
Voting papers will be delivered to Palmerston North households from Thursday 30 August. Voting papers must be returned by mail before Friday 21 September at 12 noon.
“We strongly encourage our Palmerston North residents to vote in this by-election. The successful candidate will represent the community’s views and make decisions on their behalf.”
The public are able to view each candidate’s profile statement online here.
Preliminary results for Horizons by-election are expected to be available from the Electoral Officer and on Horizons’ website on 24 September, with final results anticipated to be ready for release on 26 September 2018.
Further information regarding the by-election, please contact Horizons’ electoral officer Craig Grant on freephone 0508 800 800 or email elections@horizons.govt.nz